Local Current Blog

Replacements benefit EP to feature fifth track, artwork by Chris Mars

When Rolling Stone published a blog last week touting a forthcoming EP from reunited members of the Replacements, it turns out we didn’t quite get the full story.

Rolling Stone originally reported that the EP — which is being recorded, pressed onto a limited run of 250 10″ vinyl records, and auctioned off to raise money for ailing guitarist Slim Dunlap — would contain four cover songs recorded by Paul Westerberg and Tommy Stinson, with Westerberg claiming founding drummer Chris Mars “didn’t want any part” in the project.

But this week, former Replacements manager Peter Jesperson has told the The Current that the EP will actually include five tracks, with the fifth song recorded by Mars. 

The track listing of the five-song EP is as follows: The Replacements (Westerberg, Stinson, plus session players Kevin Bowe and Peter Anderson) covering Dunlap’s “Busted Up, Broadway showtune “Everything’s Coming Up Roses,” Gordon Lightfoot’s “I’m Not Sayin’,” and Hank Williams’ “Lost Highway,” plus a version of Dunlap’s “Radio Hook Word Hit” covered by Mars, with him playing all the instruments himself. News of Mars’ contribution to the EP is a sweet follow-up to the original tune “When I Fall Down” that he penned for Dunlap earlier this year.


1. Busted Up
2. Radio Hook Word Hit (Chris Mars)


1. I’m Not Sayin’
2. Lost Highway
3. Everything’s Coming Up Roses 

Additionally, Mars will create the cover art for the EP, and the art for a lengthy series of Slim Dunlap tribute 45s that will follow. The EP is expected to be released in December, and Jesperson says that they’ve already confirmed 18 artists for the subsequent series of singles that will also raise money for Dunlap over the course of the next year; Steve Earle, Lucinda Williams, and Jakob Dylan are just some of the artists who have signed on to record covers of Dunlap’s songs for the series. The singles will be pressed onto limited runs of 100 45s each, and will also be released digitally. 

Here’s the full list of artists confirmed for the Slim series:

1. The Replacements  
2. NRBQ  
3. Steve Earle 
4. Lucinda Williams  
5. Jakob Dylan 
6. John Doe 
7. Ramblin’ Jack Elliott 
8. The Hold Steady
9. Deer Tick 
10. The Jayhawks 
11. Tim O’Reagan & Jim Boquist
12. Chris Mars
13. Curtiss A. with Peter Buck, Scott McCaughey & friends 
14. The Young Fresh Fellows
15. Tommy Keene  
16. You Am I
17. Joe Henry
18. Frank Black & The Suicide Commandos

Dunlap has been in a rehabilitation facility recovering from a severe stroke that he suffered in February. His wife Chrissie recently told Rolling Stone that the insurance money is about to run out and that his family will be forced to pay for his care out of pocket. “Slim is still slowly recovering,” she said. “He is still paralyzed on his left side, and still on a feeding tube.” She expects him to be released from the hospital next week.

In addition to the benefit EPs and 45s, fans are also able to contribute money for Dunlap’s care online.