Local Current Blog

New Atmosphere album ‘Southsiders’ coming May 6

Atmosphere's Slug and Ant (Photo by Dan Monick)

As hinted at by Slug during this winter’s Welcome to Minnesota tour, Atmosphere will release their new album Southsiders via Rhymesayers on May 6.

Anyone who follows @atmosphere on Twitter knows that Slug has been using the #Southsiders hashtag for a while now to talk about his life in south Minneapolis. The album was recorded in that same neighborhood with additional work in Oakland, and Slug promises the album will provide “a very detailed look at my life.”

“It’s a natural progression from the last record, The Family Sign, which was about growing my family,” he says. “I’m starting to think, ‘What is post–family man? What am I supposed to rap about now?'”

The album’s first single is a reflection on turning “Bitter”:

Here’s the track listing for Southsiders, Atmosphere’s eighth studio album:

1. Camera Thief
2. Arthur’s Song
3. The World Might Not Live Through The Night
4. Star Shaped Heart
5. I Love You Like A Brother
6. Southsiders
7. Bitter
8. Mrs. Interpret
9. Fortunate
10. Kanye West
11. We Ain’t Gonna Die Today
12. My Lady Got Two Men
13. Flicker
14. January On Lake Street
15. Let Me Know That You Know What You Want Now