Local Current Blog

Trampled by Turtles share first single off new album, ‘Wild Animals’

Photo by Zoran Orlic

Hot on the heels of the announcement of their inaugural Festival Palomino, which hits Canterbury Park on September 20, Trampled by Turtles are back with more news today: they have a new studio album, Wild Animals, coming out on July 15.

Produced by Low’s Alan Sparhawk and recorded at the historic Pachyderm Studios in Cannon Falls, Minnesota, Wild Animals marries the layered string arrangements of Trampled by Turtles’ previous material with the more atmospheric, intimate vibe of Dave Simonett’s recent solo EP, Razor Pony. In fact, the first single off the new Trampled by Turtles album, “Are You Behind the Shining Star?,” first appeared on Razor Pony; for the rendition that appears on Wild Animals, Simonett traded in the whir of an electric guitar for a subtle, warm string accompaniment.

“We recorded it this winter, in January. It was a blast,” lead singer Dave Simonett told Barb Abney today. “Alan Sparhawk produced the record, it was our first time working with him, and he did a great job, I feel.”

Though Trampled by Turtles have become notorious on the live circuit for their breakneck, smoking-fast style of bluegrass music, they have also connected with a more widespread sea of fans on the strength of their more somber, introspective acoustic material—namely the breakout single on 2012’s Stars and Satellites, “Alone.” Wild Animals aims to explore the whole range of the group’s abilities.

“A lot of our reputation from even just a couple years ago was that we were this fast band, which we can do, and we do that,” Simonett noted. “But this record focused a little bit more on other aspects of our playing together.”

Listen to the new single “Are You Behind the Shining Star?” here:

  1. Listen Trampled by Turtles, “Are You Behind the Shining Star?”

Or watch the video here:

And here is the track listing and cover art for Wild Animals:

1. Wild Animals
2. Hollow
3. Repetition
4. Are You Behind the Shining Star?
5. Silver Light
6. Come Back Home
7. Ghosts
8. Lucy
9. Western
10. Nobody Knows
11. Winners


And a video vignette of the new album:


  • girliefries

    Erik Berry chin?!

  • Jay Ernteman

    Would of been nice to hear something that wasn’t on your solo lp , which I love and I love Dead Man Winter ……but I also love Trampled by turtles and this sounds like Dave …..not TBT. Not a insult guys , just not what I was expecting , Im sure the rest of the record will dull anything sour I have for this song being on this record……..Im sorry if any of that sounded bad , Im just so happy you guys are succeeding and theres a reason you are so Ill just shut up now hahaha ……..love you guys , keep it up.

    Spoke to soon , video is awesome as is the song ……..cheers guys

  • Amazing album, tracks sounds good. Especially the thing which I like about you that you are trying to maintain your reputation. Reputation shows who you are.