Local Current Blog

Listen to a new Low song, ‘No Comprende’

Publicity photo by Zoran Orlic

A new Low album is on the way, and today we get our first taste of the band’s latest work in the form of the single “No Comprende.” The new track crackles, with distortion singing the edges off of Alan Sparhawk’s marching guitar, and then opens up for an ominous, cavernous finale that highlights Mimi Parker’s mournful voice.

The band’s new record, Ones and Sixes, was recorded at Justin Vernon’s April Base studio near Eau Claire, Wisconsin with engineer BJ Burton. “We tracked under the soft glow of laser discs playing lost classics like Point Break and Speed,” Sparhawk says. “Glenn Kotche from Wilco was there one day working on another record, so we had him in to play hand-percussion on a couple songs. Working 2 or 3 days at a time, leaving it with BJ, then back again for more, we don’t have the time or money to second-guess or pick from a pool of possibilities. This is the whole thought—the untamed truth. This is now. This is everything.”

Here’s the track list for the new album, out September 11 on Sub Pop:

01 Gentle
02 No Comprende
03 Spanish Translation
04 Congregation
05 No End
06 Into You
07 What Part of Me
08 The Innocents
09 Kid in the Corner
10 Lies
11 Landslide
12 DJ

Low will embark on a tour in support of Ones and Sixes this fall. They’ll stop at First Avenue on November 11.