Local Current Blog

The Jayhawks announce new album for 2016

via the Jayhawks on Facebook

In three decades as a band, the Jayhawks have written a multitude of original songs, released eight studio albums, and toured internationally. Now, they’ve announced the release of a new album, created with a pair of star producers, early next year.

The Jayhawks were established in Minneapolis in 1985 and became one of the core bands of what became known as the “alt country” movement. Members have come and gone, but founding members Gary Louris and Marc Perlman remain a part of the current lineup alongside guitarist Kraig Johnson, keyboardist Karen Grotberg, and drummer Tim O’Reagan.

In an effort to give fans access to the recording process, the Jayhawks have turned to crowdfunding site PledgeMusic. A special edition of the album only available to supporters will include a second disc of demos and outtakes as well as access to photos and written updates.  The untitled album does not yet have a set release date, but is available for preorder online.

R.E.M.’s Peter Buck and Grammy-nominated Tucker Martine (My Morning Jacket, Neko Case, the Decemberists) are producing the album, which the band started recording earlier this year in Portland. It will be released through Sham, the Jayhawks’ own label, in partnership with independent music distribution company Thirty Tigers.

The Jayhawks will play First Avenue’s Mainroom on Jan. 2 before heading to Mexico for the Todos Santos Music Festival later that month.

Micaela Gerhardt is a junior at Concordia College majoring in English writing and Spanish. She is always planning what to read next, where to travel next, and what to eat for breakfast.