Local Current Blog

Two new Prince releases, including music from the vault, on the way

"Prince 4Ever" cover art

Prince fans won’t have to wait much longer for a taste of music from the vault. On Thursday night, NPG Records and Warner Bros. Records announced two new releases — the first ones since Prince’s death on April 21 — and both will share music that was previously unreleased.

The first project, Prince 4Ever, comes out on Nov. 22 in the United States and will go global Nov. 25; the title stays faithful to Prince’s eclectic spelling and his fans’ ardent dedication. Prince 4Ever is the fourth “greatest hits” album of the artist’s career, and only The Hits/The B-Sides (1993) is longer; Prince 4Ever runs for 40 tracks (including “I Would Die 4 U,” “Let’s Go Crazy,” “When Doves Cry,” “Kiss,” “Purple Rain,” Batman (1989) song “Batdance,” and many more).

In a compilation curveball, Prince 4Ever contains not just old favorites, but also a new song, which Prince kept unreleased for decades. It’s called “Moonbeam Levels,” and according to the press release, it was recorded back in 1982 (the year 1999 came out, sparking the beginning of Prince’s most commercially successful period).

The second of the two releases will be a deluxe Purple Rain set, which will contain remasters of the classic soundtrack and a second album of “previously unreleased material.” The deluxe Purple Rain‘s release date has not yet been finalized, but it’s expected early next year.

Here’s a rundown of Prince 4Ever‘s track list:

1. 1999
2. Little Red Corvette
3. When Doves Cry
4. Let’s Go Crazy
5. Raspberry Beret
6. I Wanna Be Your Lover
7. Soft and Wet
8. Why You Wanna Treat Me So Bad
9. Uptown
10. When You Were Mine
11. Head
12. Gotta Stop (Messin’ About)
13. Controversy
14. Let’s Work
15. Delirious
16. I Would Die 4 U
17. Take Me With U
18. Paisley Park
19. Pop Life
20. Purple Rain
21. Kiss
22. Sign ‘O’ The Times
23. Alphabet Street
24. Batdance
25. Thieves In The Temple
26. Cream
27. Mountains
28. Girls & Boys
29. If I Was Your Girlfriend
30. U Got The Look
31. I Could Never Take The Place of Your Man
32. Glam Slam
33. Moonbeam Levels
34. Diamonds and Pearls
35. Gett Off
36. Sexy MF
37. My Name Is Prince
38. 7
39. Peach
40. Nothing Compares 2 U