Local Current Blog

UPDATED: ‘Singles’ soundtrack reissue to include previously unreleased Paul Westerberg tracks

2017 marks the 25th (!) anniversary of Cameron Crowe’s Singles, the movie that was to grunge what Saturday Night Fever was to disco. Details are emerging about a reissue of the film’s classic soundtrack — and it looks like it will include four previously unreleased tracks by Paul Westerberg. Update 1/27: Details for this release have been confirmed. See below.

Westerberg had two songs on the original soundtrack: “Dyslexic Heart” and “Waiting for Somebody.” They were his first post-Replacements solo releases. It was appropriate for the soundtrack to include the frontman of a band that was a formative influence on the grunge generation, but Westerberg’s songs were much poppier than the material that surrounded them — tracks by the likes of Alice in Chains, Mudhoney, and Pearl Jam.

A track listing for a 2 CD/3 LP (or, in the latter case, possibly 2 LP and 1 CD) reissue is now posted on Amazon’s UK site, with a release date of Feb. 17. As Consequence of Sound notes, though, fans might want to take that with a grain of salt: “A previous listing on Acoustic Sounds from May 2015 listed a August 2016 release date, and obviously that never occurred.” Update: The release will be a 2 CD/2 LP set, with a bonus disc of rarities. It’s announced for release on May 19.

The bonus tracks for the deluxe edition include “Touch Me I’m Dick” by Citizen Dick — the fictional band that Matt Dillon’s character plays in — as well as what are presumably alternate takes or demos of “Dyslexic Heart” and “Waiting for Somebody,” and previously unknown Westerberg tracks “Blue Heart” and “Lost in Emily’s Words.” The latter two are likely instrumental tracks Westerberg contributed to the film’s score. Update: The new “Dyslexic Heart” is an acoustic version never previously released on CD. The new “Waiting for Somebody” is an acoustic version recorded for the film’s score and never previously released.

Here’s the track listing, as it currently appears on Amazon.co.uk. Update: The below track list is confirmed.

Disc One

1. Alice in Chains – “Would?”
2. Pearl Jam – “Breath”
3. Chris Cornell – “Seasons”
4. Paul Westerberg – “Dyslexic Heart”
5. The Lovemongers – “Battle of Evermore’
6. Mother Love Bone – “Chloe Dancer”/”Crown of Thorns”
7. Soundgarden – “Birth Ritual”
8. Pearl Jam – “State of Love and Trust”
9. Mudhoney- “Overblown”
10. Paul Westerberg – “Waiting for Somebody”
11. The Jimi Hendrix Experience – “May This Be Love”
12. Screaming Trees – “Nearly Lost You”
13. Smashing Pumpkins – “Drown”

Disc Two

1. Citizen Dick – “Touch Me I’m Dick” (first time on CD)
2. Chris Cornell – “Nowhere but You” (Poncier)
3. Chris Cornell – “Spoon Man” (Poncier)
4. Chris Cornell – “Flutter Girl” (Poncier)
5. Chris Cornell – “Missing” (Poncier) (first time on CD)
6. Alice In Chains – “Would?” (live) – (first time on CD)
7. Alice In Chains – “It Ain’t Like That” (live) – (first time on CD)
8. Soundgarden – “Birth Ritual” (live) – (first time on CD)
9. Paul Westerberg – “Dyslexic Heart” (acoustic) – (first time on CD)
10. Paul Westerberg – “Waiting for Somebody” (score acoustic) – (previously unreleased)
11. Mudhoney – “Overblown” (demo) – (previously unreleased)
12. Truly – “Heart and Lungs”
13. Blood Circus – “Six Foot Under”
4. Mike McCready – “Singles Blues 1” (previously unreleased)
15. Paul Westerberg – “Blue Heart” (previously unreleased)
16. Paul Westerberg – “Lost in Emily’s Words” (previously unreleased)
17. Chris Cornell – “Ferry Boat #3” (previously unreleased)
18. Chris Cornell – “Score Piece #4” (previously unreleased)